The Best of Mountain Stage Vol.3
Back to Yo La Tengo Homepage


CD Blue Plate Music (BPM 003) 1992

1. Border Crossing (Timbuk 3) (liquid$)
2. Guantan Amerika (Alex Chilton) (liquid$)
3. Superman's Song (Crash Test Dummies) (liquid$)
4. Never Had it So Good (Mary-Chapin Carpenter) (liquid$)
5. Waiting for a Miracle (Bruce Cockburn) (liquid$)
6. Soy de San Lois (Texas Tornados) (liquid$)
7. Misguided Angel (Cowboy Junkies) (liquid$)
8. Lewis (Yo La Tengo) (liquid, liquid$)
9. Shelter (Sarah McLachlan) (liquid$)
10. Renegade (Warren Zevon) (liquid$)
11. Cynical Girl (Marshall Crenshaw) (liquid$)
12. Romance is a Slow Dance (The Fabulous Twister Sisters) (liquid$)
13. Tear Stained Letter (Jo-El Sonnier) (liquid$)

Notes: Track 8 is the Yo La Tengo song.

Details from Matador's Annotated Discography:

Live acoustic version of this song from New Wave Hot Dogs, as performed by the Fakebook touring group, with Wilbo Wright on the upright bass, and Kevin Salem on electric guitar. Recorded just after Ira's bout with Lyme disease.

This was recorded on a day the Giants won the Super Bowl. The night before we had played at this college in Ohio, where a couple of students playing acoustic versions of classic rock songs blew us off the stage. We performed for 45 minutes or so to an at-best apathetic gathering and saw no need for an encore. A couple of friends who had come from Columbus felt we hadn't given them their drive's worth, so we played another half dozen songs for them in the dressing room. We invited anybody interested to come watch, but I think the students felt that to do so would be to give up their home-court advantage, so they settled for complaining behind our backs. --Ira.


Georgia Hubley - Singing, Drums
Ira Kaplan - Singing, Guitar
Kevin Salem - Guitar
Wilbo - Bass