They Came, They Played, They Blocked The Driveway - Live on WFMU
Back to Yo La Tengo Homepage


CD WFMU 1993


1. Pickled Bullhorn (Universal Congress Of)
2. It's Raining on New York (Jac Berrocal/Jean Francois Pauvros/Jonathan Kane)
3. Earn It (ESG)
4. Hepsaba's Compass (The Mommyheads)
5. The Bearded Hermes (Sun City Girls)
6. What U Should Be Now (David Kilgour/Hamish Kilgour/Graeme Jeffries)
7. The Mark of Zorro (Tijuana Bible)
8. Captain Kidd (Cowboy Junkies)
9. Can't Find My Way Home (Swans)
10. Snapdragon (The Dentists)
11. What We Hate (Screeching Weasel)
12. Moona-ina-Joona (Th' Faith Healers)
13. Misery (Someone is Winnning) (Scrawl)
14. Gods and Monsters (Jeff Buckley/Gary Lucas)
15. Barnaby, Hardly Working (Yo La Tengo)


1. Please, Please, Please, Please (Jad Fair/Tim Foljahn/Steve Shelley)
2. Zonnebloem/Le Corps Sans Merci (God is my Co-Pilot)
3. Get It Straight Africans (Sister Carol)
4. I Killed the Monster (Daniel Johnston)
5. Little Pictures (Angel Dean w/Tony Maimone and Phillip Dray)
6. Tennessee Waltz (Linda Gibbs w/Pat McKearn and Hearn Gadbois)
7. From Above (The Vacant Lot)
8. Crush (Tall Dwarfs)
9. Mercy of the Moon (World Famous Blue Jays feat. Eric Ambel)
10. Goldfinger (Peter Stampfel)
11. Banjo Dog (Gene Parsons/Meridian Green)
12. Shake that Thing (Hasil Adkins)
13. Two Bit Song (Baby Gramps)
14. The Three Bears (Sam Ulano)
15. Battaile de Valmy (Guigou Chenevier/Rick Brown)
16. Neighborhood Girls (Suzanne Vega w/ John Guth)
17. Why Not Circulate (Birdsongs of the Mesozoic)
18. Drumsong for Leadbelly (Andrew Cyrille)
19. Jesus was Way Cool (King Missile)

Notes: Yo La Tengo plays track 15 of disc 1. Both CDs are live, radio-only performances.

Details from Matador's Annotated Discography:

This double CD was available as a premium during the 1993 pledge drive. It also features a great version of "Goldfinger" by Peter Stampfel, and a blood-curdling scream by Roxanne Stephen towards the end of The Faith Healers' "Moona-Ina-Joona".


Georgia Hubley - Singing, Drums
Ira Kaplan - Singing, Guitar
James McNew - Bass