Genius + Love = Yo La Tengo
Back to Yo La Tengo Homepage


Double LP/CD Matador (OLE-194) 1996

Disc 1:

  1. Evanescent Psychic Pez Drop (mp3x, realx)
  2. Demons (realx)
  3. Fog Over Frisco (realx)
  4. Too Late (mp3x, realx)
  5. Hanky Panky No How (mp3x, realx)
  6. Something To Do (mp3x, liquidx)
  7. Ultra-Powerful Short Wave Radio Picks Up Music From Venus (mp3x, liquidx)
  8. Up To You (liquidx)
  9. Somebody's Baby (mp3x, liquidx)
  10. Walking Away From You (mp3x, liquidx)
  11. Artificial Heart (liquidx)
  12. Cast a Shadow (mp3x, liquidx)
  13. I'm Set Free (mp3x, liquidx)
  14. Barnaby Hardly Working (mp3x, liquidx)
  15. Some Kinda Fatigue (liquidx)
  16. Speeding Motorcycle (mp3x, mp3x, liquidx)

Disc 2:

  1. Nutricia (mp3x, realx)
  2. Her Grandmother's Gift (liquidx)
  3. From A Motel 6 #2 (mp3x, realx)
  4. Gooseneck Problem (realx)
  5. Surfin with the Shah (mp3x, realx)
  6. Ecstacy Blues (liquidx)
  7. Too Much (Part 1) (liquidx)
  8. Blitzrieg Bop (mp3x, liquidx)
  9. One Self: Fish Girl (mp3x, liquidx)
  10. Enough (liquidx)
  11. Drum Solo (liquidx)
  12. From a Motel 6 #1 (mp3x, liquidx)
  13. Too Much (Part 2) (liquidx)
  14. Sunsquashed (mp3x, realx)

Bonus Tracks on Japanese Pressing:

  1. Autumn Sweater (Kevin Shields Mix) (realx, mp3)
  2. Autumn Sweater (-ZIQ Mix) (realx)

Both bonus tracks can be found on the Autumn Sweater CD Single.

Notes: Most of these tracks were released previously and are  hard-to-find and out of print. A complete list of where the tracks are from, and commentary (with links) by the band on each of these tracks can be found here.

Details from Matador's Annotated Discography:

The reel of tape that contained "Somebody's Baby" was in such bad shape that it could only be resuscitated by the miracle of "baking" - actually putting the reel of tape in a convection oven. Real studio guys told us to do this. And it worked! Like Homer Simpson said when describing how he invented the Flaming Homer, "I don't know the scientific terms for it, but Fire Made It Good." -James

Georgia Hubley - Singing, Drums, Organ
Ira Kaplan - Singing, Guitar, Organ
James McNew - Bass