May I Sing With Me
Back to Yo La Tengo Homepage


CD Alias Records (AO21) 1992

1. Detouring America With Horns (liquid$, mp3x, realx
2. Upside-Down (liquid$, mp3x, realx)
3. Mushroom Cloud of Hiss (liquid$, mp3x, realx)
4. Swing For Life (liquid$, mp3x, realx)
5. Five-Cornered Drone (Crispy Duck) (liquid$, mp3x, realx)
6. Some Kinda Fatigue (liquid$, mp3x)
7. Always Something (liquid$, mp3x)
8. 86-Second Blowout (liquid$, mp3x)
9. Out the Window (liquid$, mp3x)
10. Sleeping Pill (liquid$)
11. Satellite (liquid$)

Notes: Tracks 4, 5, and 9 are also on That is Yo La Tengo (different versions?). The Japanese version of this CD is rumoured to contain two bonus tracks, but I don't know what they are, please email me if you do.. You can also check out the Alias Records YLT site.

Details from Matador's Annotated Discography:

Gene Holder: We went up to Fort Apache studio in Boston to record it, and Lou Giordano engineered the sessions. One morning I got there early and me and Lou were sitting around drinking coffee... he got really serious and sorta leaned in close and said, "Are all bands fom New Jersey this difficult to work with? Because we just had The Feelies here recently, and..." He wasn't trying to be mean or anything, he was just genuinely curious. Also, I remember while we were there, we saw one of my all-time favorite episodes of "The Simpsons", the one where Bart falls in with the Mafia.

I think this album was recorded the same year I threw a drumstick at Gene Holder and kicked Ira in the shins. Somehow, Lou Giordano got away unscathed. --Georgia

The album included "Mushroom Cloud of Hiss," which originated as an instrumental in Georgia and my two-electric-guitar shows, after Stephan quit for the time. The title came about later. Like "The River of Water" before it, it came from some lousy book I was copy-editing. Sleepily correcting some softcore, I misread the word "crown" as "cloud" and corrected the typo in the phrase "The mushroon crown of hiss penis." --Ira

Georgia Hubley - Singing, Drums, Some Feedback
Ira Kaplan - Singing, Guitar
James McNew - Bass
Gene Holder - Bass on tracks 4 and 5, Producer