The Asparagus Song
Back to Yo La Tengo Homepage


7" Coyote Records (TTC 87104) 1987

1. The Asparagus Song (liquidx)
2. For The Turnstiles

Notes: For The Turnstiles is a Neil Young Cover. Chris Stamey produced.Both songs can be found as bonus tracks on the New Wave Hot Dogs/President Yo La Tengo CD.

Details from Matador's Annotated Discography:

Dave Rick: I think this stuff was also from the same sessions as New Wave Hot Dogs. I came in and supplied some wild guitar, and Dave Schramm supplied some respectable guitar, back in the days before Ira was confident enough in his own abilities to do either. I seem to remember playing guitar with them off and on around this time, driving around New Jersey with Steve Michener. It seems so weird.

I have about 10 copies of this single that my cat pissed all over. The price has gone up since he passed away. --Georgia


Georgia Hubley - Drums
Ira Kaplan - Guitar
Stephan Wichnewski - Bass
Dave Rick - Guitar (Track 2)
Dave Schramm - Guitar (Track 1)
Chris Stamey - Producer